Sundance Film Festival Awards 2023 – Winners List – Deadline

the Sundance The Movie Pageant has revealed the winners of the 2023 Jury and Viewers Awards.

Amongst as we speak’s huge winners was Mariam Keshavars Persian modelwhich gained an Viewers Award and a Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award within the American Dramatic Competitors, in addition to an A.V. Rockwell’s Award. thousand and abovee for Focus Options, which gained a Grand Jury Award in the identical division.

Different titles that acquired the best awards embrace Pageant Favorite extremist From director Christopher Zala and 3Bass Studios; Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Mission From Joe Brewster and Michèle Stephenson, recipients of the Grand Jury Prize for US Documentary Movies; Madeline Gavin Past Utopia, which gained the American Documentary Viewers Award; friendship. smith Kokomo Metropoliswhich dominated the NEXT division taking each the Innovator and Viewers Awards.

Written, directed and produced by Keshavarz for Archer Grey, Persian model He watches a big Iranian-American household collect for a patriarch’s coronary heart transplant, with the invention of a secret then catapults an estranged mom and daughter into an exploration of the previous.

one thousand and one Follows the unapologetic and energetic Inez (Teyana Taylor) as she kidnaps 6-year-old Terry (Josiah Cross) from the foster care system, satisfied it is one final crime wanted on the street to redemption. Holding on to their secret and one another, a mom and son start to revive their sense of residence, identification, and stability in New York Metropolis. Lena White is among the many producers.

extremist follows a disillusioned trainer (Eugenio Derbez) who explores new educating avenues in a Mexican border city, with… Go to Mars Reflecting on the lifetime of poet Nikki Giovanni, w Past Utopia Comply with up households fleeing North Korea. Then there’s the Magnolia Footage acquisition Kokomo Metropolischarting the experiences of 4 transgender intercourse employees, as they confront the divide between the black group and themselves.

Juries attending the Sundance Awards announcement, which was broadcast dwell on the pageant’s social media channels from the Rye Theater in Park Metropolis, Utah, included Jeremy O. Harris and Marlee Matlin in US Drama Competitors, and Ramona Diaz and Carla Gutierrez for US Documentary Competitors, Vuna Madoca for Worldwide Dramatic Movie Competitors, and Madeline Olenick for NEXT.

The 2023 pageant highlighted 111 options and 64 brief movies, chosen from 15,856 entries, throughout screenings in Park Metropolis, Salt Lake Metropolis, and on the Sundance Resort. Greater than 75% of the brief and feature-length works, together with a number of chosen Indie Episodics episodes, will likely be obtainable for streaming throughout the pageant’s on-line platform via January 29.

Sundance’s first in-person pageant because the Covid pandemic featured quite a lot of main gross sales – most of which we have been the primary to report. The primary title to get an enormous deal was Chloe Domont’s thriller truthful play, starring Phoebe Dynevor and Alden Ehrenreich, which went to Netflix for about $20 million. John Carney musical drama Flora and his sonstarring Eve Hewson and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, went to Apple for just about the identical factor, with Searchlight taking the group’s impromptu comedy Theater camp for about $8 million. Moby addressed the drama of Ira Sachs’ relationship arcadeas A24 is in talks to land the title for Midnight Bustle Discuss to me As of Tuesday, MTV Documentary Wins World Cinema Documentary Grand Jury Prize Mighty El Barydy Everlasting reminiscenceAs introduced this morning.

Final 12 months’s Sundance ceremony boosted the awards trajectory for 4 of the 5 contenders for the feature-length documentary Oscar in 2023 — these titles are Navalny (Viewers Award in Documentary Competitors, Favourite Pageant Award), the hearth of affection (Jonathan Oppenheim Modifying Award), All of it breathes (Worldwide Documentary Movie Competitors Award for Documentary Movies) f A home fabricated from shrapnel (Route Award within the Worldwide Documentary Movie Competitors). The pageant proved much more related to the awards race of the earlier 12 months, with Sian Heder successful the Greatest Image Oscar coda and winner of Questlove’s Greatest Doc Award Summer time of the soul It highlights the heart beat in each the narrative and the documentary.

View the record of 2023 winners beneath.

Favourite Pageant Award

Director: Christopher Zala

American Dramatic Competitors

Grand Jury Prize

one thousand and one
Director: A.V. Rockwell

Viewers Award

Persian model
Director: Maryam Keshavarz

Route Award

Sing J. Lee
Unintentional getaway driver

Jury Prize: Artistic Imaginative and prescient

Dream Journal
Director: Elijah Bynum

Waldo Salt Award for Screenwriting

Mariam Keshavarz
Persian model

Particular Jury Prize: Performing

Leo Mihel

Jury Prize: Ensemble

Theater camp
Administrators: Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman

American Documentary Competitors

Grand Jury Prize

Going to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Mission
Administrators: Joe Brewster, Michelle Stevenson

Viewers Award

Past Utopia
Director: Madeline Gavin

Route Award

Luke Lorentzen
Voice remains to be small

Particular Jury Prize: Readability of Imaginative and prescient

Administrators: Kristen Lovell, Zachary Drucker

Particular Jury Prize: Freedom of Expression

Dangerous press
Administrators: Rebecca Landsbury-Baker, Joe Piller

Jonathan Oppenheim Editorial Award

Daniela I Quirouz
Go varsity at Mariachi

World Cinema Documentary Competitors

Viewers Award

20 days in Mariupol (Ukraine)
Director: Mstislav Chernov

Grand Jury Prize

Everlasting reminiscence (Chile)
Director: Maite El Bardy

Route Award

Sisters smoke sauna (Estonia / France / Eire)
Director: Anna Hunts

Particular Jury Prize: Actual Filmmaking

towards the tide (India)
Director: Sarvnik Kor

Particular Jury Prize: Artistic Imaginative and prescient

Nice machine (Sweden / Denmark)
Director: Axel Danielson

Worldwide movie competitors

Viewers Award

Help it (Australia)
Director: Noura Niasari

Grand Jury Prize

scraper (Uk)
Director: Charlotte Regan

Route Award

Maria Kavtaradze
gradual (Lithuania / Spain / Sweden)

Particular Jury Prize: Artistic Imaginative and prescient

Animal (France / Morocco / Qatar)
Director: Sofia Alaoui

Particular Jury Prize: Greatest Efficiency

Rosa Marchant
when it melts (Belgium / Netherlands)

Particular Jury Prize: Cinematography

Lilis Soares
Mami Wata (Nigeria)

subsequent one

Viewers Award

Kokomo Metropolis
Director: Dr. smith

Innovator Award

Kokomo Metropolis
Director: Dr. smith

Brief Movie Awards

Grand Jury Prize

Whenever you left me on that blvd (United States of America)
Director: Kayla Abouda Galang

Jury Prize: American Fiction

Relaxation stops
Director: Crystal Kaiza

Jury Prize: Route, Worldwide

Valeria Hoffman
AliEN0089 (Chile)

Jury Prize: Directing, United States

Jarrow Karyo

Jury Prize: Animation

Flying seas
Administrators: Wendy Tilby, Amanda Forbes (Canada)

Jury Prize: Nonfiction

You’ll have a look at me (China)
Director: Shuli Huang

Jury Prize: Worldwide Fiction

Bride kidnapped (Germany)
Director: Sofia Mokoria

Beforehand introduced winners

Alfred B. Sloane Characteristic Movies

Pod technology
Director: Sophie Bart

Amazon Studios Nonfiction Award

Jess Devaney
It is just life in any case

Amazon Studios Fiction Award

Kara Dorrit
Starling Woman

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Nonfiction Modifying

Mary Manhardt

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Fiction Modifying

Troy Takaaki

Sundance/NHK Award

Noso olive

Sundance Institute | All-Star Collective Fantasy Awards

Tamara Shogolo
40 acres

Naveed Khonsari, Vasiliki Khonsari, and Andrés Perez Duarte
Block Get together Bodega

Vanessa Keith
Yr 2180

Gayle Stephens Volunteer Award

Carlos Sanchez

Leave a Comment